Thank you for visiting Paducahsun.com, online home of The Paducah Sun.

June 2012
27 28 29 30 31 01 02

Click here to submit an event.

Massac Co. (IL) High School

Staff report

METROPOLIS, ILL. -- The 35th annual commencement at Massac County High School was held May 20, with 143 seniors graduating.

The valedictorian was Jaylin Reece Tockstein, the daughter of Rene Dees and Darren Tockstein.

Jaylin was captain of the Varsity Scholar Bowl team, a member of the Math and WYSE teams.

She was also in the German club.

Jaylin placed first in the English Regional's in the years of 2014-15 and 2015-16.

She received the George May Award for best history student in 2015.

Jaylin received one of the Academic Banquet Scholarships, named one of the 2016 Illinois State Scholars, and the recipient of the Purdue University Trustee Scholarship where in the fall she will attend the College of Science with a major in Health & Disease, with intentions to pursue a medical degree specializing in pediatric cardiology.

The salutatorian was Megan Dru Woolverton, the daughter of Mark and Jean Woolverton.

Megan has been a member of many clubs and organizations, where she held many offices at Massac County High School, Treasurer of the National Honors Society; Vice President of the Spanish Club; HOSA where she helped Run Blood Drive and attended HOSA Competitions; the WYSE Team; the Math Team ; Treasurer for two years of Student Council; the Cultural Awareness; the Biology Club; the Key Club; Mu Alpha Theta; the Business Skills Club; the FCCLA; the Chemistry Team; Captain of the Tennis Team; and Co-Captain of the Dance Team. Megan is very active volunteer in her community. She has or currently volunteers with Project Hope; Rebuilding Together; Instructor at the Karate Clinic; the Ohio River Sweep; Groceries for Good; Barbeque on the River; the Massac Encampment; the Metropolis Library; Centerpoint; and the Paducah VA Clinic. Megan has also received many Awards and Honors: 2016 Illinois State Scholar; 2016 Southern Illinois All South Athlete; 2015 fourth place in FCCLA Cake Competition; 2015 Illinois Girl State Candidate; 2015 Good Citizenship Citation; 2015 State Finalist Girls Doubles Tennis; third place WYSE Team and Math/Chemistry; 2015 first place WYSE Team and Wendy's Heisman School Finalist in 2014. After graduation Megan plans to attend Missouri State University, where she will pursue a doctorate in Physical Therapy.

Other honor graduates:

Jay Benard, son Jno and Tina Benard, Rend Lake College; Courtney Bremer, daughter of Daniel and Karen Bremer, Austin Peay University; William Tristan Donaldson, son of Bill and Sabrina Donaldson, University of Illinois Urbana- Champaign; Justin Dunning, son of W.E. and Janet Dunning, Western Kentucky Community Technical College; Hannah Gilbert, daughter of Stanley and Deisha Gilbert, Western Kentucky Community Technical College; Laken Hoyer, daughter of Keith and Cheryl Hoyer, Murray State University; Natalie Jennings, daughter of Brian and Gera Jennings, Murray State University; Casey Jordan, daughter of Gay Barrett, Shawnee Community College; Timothy Hayes Lawson, son of Tim and Leslie Lawson, Western Kentucky University; Kelsey McNichols, daughter of Kris and Lynn McNichols, Murray State University; Emily Schulte, daughter of David and Melody Schulte, Arizona State University; Sydney Scott, daughter of Benita and Jeff Yonosick, Culver-Stockton College; Tanner Weatherbee, son of Linda Weatherbee and Ray Weatherbee; Murray State University; and Katelyn Williams, daughter of Anthony Williams and Kelly Waddoups; Western Kentucky Community Technical College.

Other members of the graduating class:

Kyli Ranae Ablett, Sidney Steven Adams, Charlene Elizabeth Anderson, Seth Michael Andrae, Brady Wayne Austin, Antonio Eduardo Avila, Crystal Joy Baines, Rachel Dainelle Baker, Zachariah Austin Baker, Alexander John Barna, Jack Mason Bass, Jorge Jordan Bautista, Aaron Nathaniel Boyd, Sydney Paige Boyd, Charles Malcolm Bradshaw III, Drake Irvin Brinker, Rily N Brown, Vivianne Senovia Cintron, Raven M Cline, Jessica Marie Coakley, Ty David Copley, Brock Marcus Costello, Mackenzie Brooke Cowgill, Elizabeth Mae Crass, Dustin James Davis, Keianna Torshae Davis, Ryan Davis, Stephanie Dominguez, Zachary Steven Donaldson, Maya Emily Dye, Zoey Jennicka Nicole DyeChien, Jordan Aidan-Alexis Dyer, Emily Sue English, Michael Jesse Nathan English, Ean Connor Farley, Emerald Gabrielle Farmer, Shawn Micheal Farmer, Connor Bryce Faughn, Emily Addison Faughn, Keaton Brooks Faughn, Maya Alexis Fitzpatrick, Carlin Reece Flannery, Bryce Romone George, Zachary Logan Giltner, Tamara Jae Goodman, Paige M. Graham, Andrew Lee Harris, Gavin Reid Hayes, James Tyler Herron, Elizabeth Danielle Hicks, Jonathan Franklin Dean Hodges, Lauren Elizabeth Ann Holzer, Brenna Elizabeth Jackson, Jana Jacobs, Mecca James, Walter Tyler Jennings, Alyssa Jade Jones, Caitlin Joe Jones, Laura Michelle Kaylor, Mercedes Nicole Kidd, Justice Michael Lane, Lincoln Heath Gage Lang, Kayla Maxine Laster, Kyle Jacob Lawrence, Ryan Matthew Lawrence, Allison Nicole Leek, Chyanne Isabella Lester, Hunter Mason Love, Christian Xavier Mata-Stout, Ashton Michael McDuffee, Kyle Robert McGinnis, Kyle Austin McNeely, Deshonique Faith Miller, Malik Shonte Miller, Bohdi Alexander Morris, Cameron Quinn Morse, Brandon Alexander Murphy, Daniele Nicole Murray, Anthony E. Nielsen, Brianna Nicole Norin, Tyler Michael Nugent, Kyler Lee Owens, Marcus Isaiah Parham, Shelby Grace Parker, Anthony Jeron Pass, Briana Shontel Pass, Cierra Maranda Patrick, Whitney Michelle Powell, Emily Marie Reed, Sophia Maria Riley, Dakota Lee Robbins, Samantha Rose Rolfe, Ryan James Schroeder, Emilee Marie Sellers, Elizabeth Nicole Shelton, Karsyn Brenna Shoulta, Brittany Anna Smith, Destiney Kaye Smith, Elizabeth Ambria Lee Smith, Charles Warner Stafford, Savannah Gwen Stafford, Austin Tyler Staton, Morgan Paige Steele, Taylor McKaylee Stephens, Kalissa Renee Sullivan, William Wesley Suttles, Hope Lauren Taylor, Lacy Elizabeth Carlene Thomas, Mackenzie Dawn Thomas, Alexxus Shantell Thompson, Tayler Marie Thompson, Edwin Jesus Torres Rodriguez, Alexis Lynne Troutman, Tia Damere Tucker, Austyn Ray Underwood, Tristan Hunter Urness, James Nelson Vickery, Devon Marcell Wade, Shawn Patrick Walker, Lyndsey Brooke Watson, James Lloyd Weaver III, David Eric Weeks, Madison Nicole Werner, Hunter Wayne Wiley, Zachary Lawrence Williams, Jacob William Lee Wrye, Katelyn Lasha Yates.

Comments made about this article - 0 Total

Comment on this article

Your comment has been submitted for approval
captcha f7c5b2632bef42dbb76b5e315e2f0a37
Top Classifieds
  • Purebred Yorkie puppies, no papers, t ... Details
  • BASENJI (very rare) or Cocker pups. 2 ... Details
  • Men's Trek 7300 andWomen's ... Details
  • FNB Bank, Inc. will be accepting seal ... Details
  • SEEING is believing! Don't buy p ... Details
  • FISHING RETREAT 4-SALE Older Mobile ... Details
  • 9801 Enlow Dr. 2 Acres, 3 lg. bdrm., ... Details
  • Details
  • HandymanSpecial 3 BR 1 BA fenced inba ... Details
  • 3 BR, 2 ba, C/A, fenced in backyard, ... Details
  • 26ft Coachman Cascade (2004) 13ft sli ... Details
  • AUTOMOVER SPECIAL6 lines - 14 dayson ... Details
  • 2011 Cadillac CTS 4 dr., cream color, ... Details

Most Popular
  1. Moors Resort flourishing
  2. 'See the stars under the stars'
  3. Lakes events
  1. DOE awarding 10-year contract for local cleanup
  2. City and county populations make small gains
  3. Fleet budget sparks examination
  1. Moors Resort flourishing
  2. 'See the stars under the stars'
  3. Lakes events

Check out these recently discussed stories and voice your opinion...