Thank you for visiting Paducahsun.com, online home of The Paducah Sun.

June 2012
27 28 29 30 31 01 02

Click here to submit an event.

Hickman County High School

Staff report

CLINTON -- Hickman County High School held commencement exercises on Friday, May 13 in the Dentis McDaniel Gymnasium.

The valedictorian was Sarah Ann Harpole.

Sarah is the daughter of Mark and Marcia Harpole.

As a College and Career Ready graduate, Sarah is also a Governor's Scholar, a Hugh O'Brien Youth delegate, a Clinton-Hickman County Chamber of Commerce Leadership Graduate, a recipient of the U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award, and a recipient of the Wendy's High School Heisman Award.

In addition, Sarah was awarded the Joey Fosko Memorial Scholarship, the Fulton/Hickman County UK Alumni Association Scholarship, a Trace Creek Baptist Church Scholarship, and the University of Kentucky's Presidential Scholarship. Sarah plays HCHS varsity softball and travel softball. She has served on the HCHS Student Council and has been a member of Future Business Leaders of America, Family and Consumer Science Leaders of America, H-Club, Science Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Beta Club, Falcon Friends, and TAG (Teen Action Group) Team.

Sarah plans to attend the University of Kentucky and major in agricultural biotechnology (pre-med).

The salutatorian was Maiesha Virginianita Simmons.

Maiesha is the daughter of Albert and Eva Simmons. As a College and Career Ready graduate, Maiesha is a Governor's Scholar, a Berea Legacy Scholar, a Berea Pinnacle Scholar, a graduate of the Clinton-Hickman County Chamber of Commerce Leadership program and a recipient of the HCHS Citizenship Award.

Maiesha is also a recipient of Berea's Tuition Promise Scholarship.

Maiesha has served as President of Beta Club and President of Future Business Leaders of America. She has also served on the KAPS/FRYSC Advisory Council and the HCHS Student Council.

She has been an active member of Science Club, H-Club, TAG Team, and the HCHS varsity basketball team. Maiesha plans to attend Berea College to major in business administration.

Other Honor students:

Savannah Sublette, daughter of David and Sandy Sublette, Eastern Kentucky University; Abby Coffey, daughter of Rex and Holly Coffey, Murray State University; McKenzie Hobbs, daughter of Brent and Andrea Hobbs, West Kentucky Community and Technical College; Ben Wilson, son of Kenny and Kim Wilson, Murray State University; Hallie Wilkey, daughter of Karl and Lisa Wilkey, Trinity Baptist College in Jacksonville, Florida; Hope Harper, daughter of Todd and Karen Harper, Union University; Alec Spillman, son of Mike and Heather Spillman, Murray State University; Noah Ferguson, son of David and Ruth Ferguson, Murray State University. Jonathan Reynolds, son of Gaylon and Kristia Reynolds, Murray State University; Noah Cunningham, son of Bruce and Vera Cunningham, Murray State University; Austin Boaz, son of Greg and Amy Boaz, Murray State University; Ethan Carter, son of Todd and Glenda Carter, Murray State University; Teri Richey, daughter of Natasha Richey, West Kentucky Community and Technical College; Kristen Boaz, daughter of Tom Boaz and Tina Boaz, Murray State University; Hannah Curlin, daughter of Steven and Tracy Curlin, Murray State University; Hailey Dixon, daughter of Kevin and Sandi Rohrer and Anthony Dixon, Murray State University; Addie Bowman, daughter of John and Sarah Bowman, Berea College; Zeke Prince, son of Billy Jr. and Michele Prince, Murray State University; Danielle Cruse, daughter of Patti Mayfield and Ronnie and Regena Cruse, West Kentucky Community and Technical College; Grant Dillard, son of Roy and Laura Dillard, Murray State University; Jordan Mathis, son of James Neil and Dawn Mathis, Murray State University; Vanessa Rebernak, daughter of Sheila Schiff, Grand Canyon University; Max Jewell, son of Ken Jewell and Ann Pettit, Trinity Baptist College, Jacksonville, Florida; Joey James, son of Billy Joe James and Angela James, Murray State University; Rachel Jackson, daughter of Charleenia McClary and the late Herbert Steppe and Phillip Jackson, United States Army.

Other members of the class:

Breeanna Beck, Robert Bell, Jesse Broyles, Jarrett Bruer, Alexis Crass, Jacob Crittendon, Caleb Dowdy, Garrett Dowdy, Jordan Farmer, Garrett French, Ethan Handley, Elizabeth Hannon, Jerod Lemons, Ashley Neill, Alyssa Nichols, Keeley Sams, Logan Sanderson, Hayden Spillman, and Trent Stairs.

Comments made about this article - 0 Total

Comment on this article

Your comment has been submitted for approval
captcha c18c159ac03c43cd8dbfae61b2a89988
Top Classifieds
  • Purebred Yorkie puppies, no papers, t ... Details
  • FNB Bank, Inc. will be accepting seal ... Details
  • Men's Trek 7300 andWomen's ... Details
  • HandymanSpecial 3 BR 1 BA fenced inba ... Details
  • SEEING is believing! Don't buy p ... Details
  • Details
  • FISHING RETREAT 4-SALE Older Mobile ... Details
  • AUTOMOVER SPECIAL6 lines - 14 dayson ... Details
  • 26ft Coachman Cascade (2004) 13ft sli ... Details

Most Popular
  1. Kentucky leads nation in hepatitis C infections
  2. Rollover wreck sends 3 to hospital
  3. Bike park on track to open in June
  1. Columbia project gets $100,000
  2. Calloway takes top spot in journalism competition
  3. Kentucky leads nation in hepatitis C infections
  1. Kentucky leads nation in hepatitis C infections
  2. Rollover wreck sends 3 to hospital
  3. Bike park on track to open in June

Check out these recently discussed stories and voice your opinion...